# **Southern Association of Marine Laboratories Annual Meeting**

May 4-6, 2025, Galveston, TX

# AGENDA

### Note: All times Central Daylight Time

#### Sunday, May 4, 2025

**Location:** Building 3034, Terrace, Fourth floor, Texas A&M University at Galveston 200 Seawolf Parkway. Galveston, Texas, 77553

#### 5:00 PM Opening Remarks & Welcome Reception

• Open Remarks: Dr. Antonietta Quigg

#### Day 1 (Monday, May 5):

Join Zoom Meeting https://tamu.zoom.us/j/94054216230?pwd=AhoysbmG3rWibCitYCp0YHKoWmng13.1

Meeting ID: 940 5421 6230 Passcode: 316903

#### Monday, May 5, 2025

**Location:** Building 3034, Room 202, Second floor, Texas A&M University at Galveston 200 Seawolf Parkway. Galveston, Texas, 77553

8:00 AM Breakfast (provided)

9:00 AM Welcome and Instructions - SAML President Clark Alexander

9:05 AM Overview of Host Laboratory - Antonietta Quigg (30 min)

9:35 AM SAML Laboratory Updates - (3 minutes per lab, Clark Alexander to provide timing)

11:15 AM Federal Briefing - Alli Hays, Federal Science Partners

12:00 PM Lunch (provided)

1:00 PM External Issue Discussion

• Insights from NAML 2025 Public Policy Meeting – Terry Donaldson, NAML president

• Impacts of and Responses to Current Administration Actions Roundtable

#### 1:45 PM Break

#### 2:00 PM SAML Business Meeting

- All voting by Delegates only; voting by in-person and virtual attendees.
- Approval of Minutes of April 28, 2024 Meeting [file attached]
- SAML Elections report of Nominating Committee (Sue Ebanks Chair, Brian Franks, Mike Sieracki)
  - President-elect (2026-2028)
  - Member-at-Large (2026-2028)
- SAML Dues delinquencies Clark Alexander
- Treasurer Report Jim Gelsleichter [for Eric Milbrandt]
  - FY2024 summary
  - FY2025 Budget Overview
- FY2024 Audit Committee report (Jim Gelsleichter, chair)
- Education Committee Report Victoria Young [on-line]
- Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Report Nick Macias
- SAML Student Support Program Loretta Battaglia, SAML President-Elect and Chair of Student Support Committee
  - Student support program updates and changes
- NAML Updates Terry Donaldson, NAML President
- New Business
  - Growing SAML/NAML membership
  - Future meeting venues 2026-ECU, typically Gulf Coast next
  - Proposal for 2027 at CMAST (w/NAML biennial meeting in Fall)
  - Future internal/external topics for annual meetings

#### 3:00 PM (approximately) Tour of TAMUG facilities

#### 6:00 PM (approximately) **Dinner (provided):**

Site for dinner - Trattoria La Vigna, 412 20th St, Galveston, TX 77550

#### Day 2 (Tuesday, May 6):

Join Zoom Meeting https://tamu.zoom.us/j/99811824684?pwd=Mn3B7pFPNWE0aocDdGbTiRg9g3mFJa.1

Meeting ID: 998 1182 4684 Passcode: 557910

#### Tuesday, May 6, 2025

**Location:** Building 3034, Room 202, Second floor, Texas A&M University at Galveston

200 Seawolf Parkway. Galveston, Texas, 77553

8:00 AM Breakfast (provided)

9:00 AM SAML Student Support Awards Presentations (moderator Loretta Battaglia)

- 9:00 TBD
- 9:15 TBD
- 9:30 TBD
- 9:45 TBD
- 10:00 TBD
- 10:15 TBD

10:30 AM Break

#### 10:45 AM Internal Issue: Building Resilience into the TAMUG Campus

- Mr. Grant Schallenberger, Assoc. VP for Administration and Auxiliary Services, TAMUG
- Mr. Justin Lowrance, Senior Project Manager, TAMUG

11:45 PM Closing Remarks - SAML President Clark Alexander

#### 12:00 PM Adjourn

Lunch is Grab and Go style (provided)

## **Committees of SAML**

#### **Board of Directors**

Clark Alexander, President 2024-2025 Loretta Battaglia, President-Elect 2024-2025 Sue Ebanks, Past President 2024-2025 Eric Milbrandt, Treasurer 2024-2025 (non-voting) Sally Brooks, Secretary 2024-2025 (non-voting) Mike Allen, Member-at-Large 2023-2025 Reide Corbett, Member-at-Large 2024-2026 Joel Trexler, Member-at-Large 2025-2027

#### **Standing Committees**

#### **Nominating Committee 2025**

Sue Ebanks (as Past President), Chair Brian Franks Mike Sieracki

#### Finance Committee 2025

Eric Milbrandt, Chair (as Treasurer), Chair Clark Alexander, President Loretta Battaglia, President-Elect Mike Allen, longest-serving Member-at-Large

#### Audit Committee 2025

Jim Gelsleichter, Chair Carys Mitchelmore Jill Stewart

#### Other Committee(s)

#### Student Awards Committee 2025

Loretta Battaglia, Chair (as President-Elect) Reide Corbett Brian Roberts